
 

 

 
 

ARIZONA MINIMUM WAGE ACT 

 

Effective January 1, 2016 

$8.05 per hour 
 
EXEMPTIONS: The Arizona Minimum Wage Act does not apply to the following: Any person 

who is employed by a parent or a sibling; Any person who is employed 

performing babysitting services in the employer’s home on a casual basis; Any 

person employed by the State of Arizona or the United States government and; 

Any person employed in a small business grossing less than $500,000 in annual 

revenue, if that small business is not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act. 

 

TIPS: For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an 

employer may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage if the 

employer can establish by its records that for each week, when adding tips 

received to wages paid, the employee received not less than the minimum wage 

for all hours worked. Certain other conditions must be met. 

 

RETALIATION  An employer is prohibited from taking any action against any person 

PROHIBITED: in retaliation for asserting a right(s) or assisting any person in doing so, or 

informing any person of rights under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act.   

 

ENFORCEMENT: Any person or organization may file a complaint with the Industrial 

Commission’s Labor Department alleging that an employer has violated the 

Arizona Minimum Wage Act. Certain time limits apply.  A civil action may also 

be filed as provided in the Act.   Violations of the Minimum Wage Act may result 

in significant penalties. 

 

INFORMATION:  For additional information regarding the Arizona Minimum Wage Act you may 

refer to the Industrial Commission’s website at www.azica.gov or you may contact the Industrial 

Commission’s Labor Department at 800 W. Washington, Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2022 or by telephone 

at (602) 542-4515. 

 

THIS POSTER MUST BE CONSPICUOUSLY POSTED IN A PLACE  

THAT IS ACCESSIBLE TO EMPLOYEES 


