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Arizona Minimum Wage Act 
 

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers 

 
Under A.R.S.23-364(A), which became effective January 1, 2007, the Industrial 

Commission of Arizona was given the authority to enforce and implement the Arizona 

minimum wage.  The following questions and answers flow from the language of the 

minimum wage initiative (2006 Proposition 202) and the final administrative rules under 

Title 20, Chapter 5, Article 12, which became effective on January 13, 2008. 
 

 
What is Arizona’s minimum wage? 

 

To see Arizona’s current minimum wage, go to 

http://www.ica.state.az.us/Labor/Labor_MinWag_main.aspx. Every employer covered 

under the Act will be required to pay each employee wages not less than this amount 

effective that date. Arizona does not provide for a training or sub-minimum wage for 

different classes of employees (e.g. young workers, students, etc.). The minimum wage 

shall be paid for all hours worked, regardless of the frequency of payment and regardless 

of whether the wage is paid on an hourly, salaried, commissioned, piece rate, or any other 

basis. For a discussion on the treatment of employees who customarily receive tips, 

please see below. 

 

When will the minimum wage be increased? 

 

The minimum wage rate is evaluated annually based on the increase in the cost of living.  

Statutory adjustments are implemented at the beginning of the calendar year. 

 

Do the requirements of the Arizona Minimum Wage Act apply to all employers? 

 

The Arizona Minimum Wage Act applies to all employers except:  

 

 The State of Arizona; 

 The United States; and  

 Small businesses that are not subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act and which have less than $500,000 in gross annual revenue. This 

exclusion for small businesses under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act is 

very limited. Practically speaking, most Arizona small businesses will be 

subject to the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. This is because most 

employers, including small businesses, are subject to the Federal Fair 

Labor Standards Act. Under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act 

coverage extends in one of two ways: Enterprise coverage or individual 

coverage. Employees who work for an “enterprise” that is engaged in 

interstate commerce or the production of goods for commerce are covered 

under the FLSA. Likewise, regardless of the volume of sales of an 

http://www.ica.state.az.us/Labor/Labor_MinWag_main.aspx
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enterprise (more or less than $500,000), individual employees whose work 

affects interstate commerce are covered under the FLSA.  

 

Are there any exemptions under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act? 

 

Unlike the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, the Arizona Minimum Wage Act has very 

few exemptions. The Arizona Minimum Wage Act applies to any employee employed by 

an employer except the following:  

 

 A person who is employed by a parent or a sibling;  

 A person who is employed performing babysitting services in the 

employer’s home on a casual basis;  

 A person employed by the State of Arizona or the United States 

government; and  

 A person employed in a small business grossing less than $500,000 in 

annual revenue, if that small business is not required to pay minimum 

wage under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. This exclusion for small 

businesses under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act is very limited. 

Practically speaking, most Arizona small businesses will be subject to the 

Arizona Minimum Wage Act. For additional discussion of this exemption, 

please see the preceding question.  

 

Does the Arizona minimum wage apply to part-time or temporary employees? 

 

Yes.  The Arizona Minimum Wage Act does not make any distinction between whether 

an employee is full-time, part-time, or temporary.  

 

Does the Arizona minimum wage apply to an independent contractor? 

 

Except for the exemptions described above, the Arizona Minimum Wage Act applies 

only to the payment of wages to employees. It does not apply to independent contractors. 

You are generally considered to be an employee if you are economically dependent on 

the business for which you are performing work.  While no one factor or set of factors is 

controlling, factors showing this dependence include the degree to which the work 

performed is integral to the employer’s business, the degree to which the employer 

controls the manner or method in which the work is performed, whether the employer 

provides the equipment or material necessary to do your work, the degree of skill 

required for the work, and the permanence of the working relationship. 

 

Does the Arizona minimum wage apply to volunteers? 

 

No. An individual that works for another person without any express or implied 

compensation agreement is not an employee under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. 

This may include an individual that volunteers his or her services for civic, charitable, or 

humanitarian reasons that are offered freely and without direct or implied pressure or 

coercion from an employer, provided that the volunteer is not otherwise employed by the 
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employer to perform the same type of services as those which the individual proposes to 

volunteer.  

 

Is the Arizona minimum wage the same for both adult and minor employees? 

 

Yes. There is no distinction made between adults and minors when it comes to payment 

of the minimum wage. 

 

Does an employer have to pay for all hours worked? 

 

Yes. The minimum wage shall be paid for all hours worked regardless of the frequency of 

payment and regardless of whether the wage is paid on an hourly, salaried, 

commissioned, piece rate, or any other basis. If in any workweek the combined wages of 

an employee are less than the applicable minimum wage, the employer shall pay, in 

addition to sums already earned, no less than the difference between the amounts earned 

and the minimum wage as required under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. 

 

What is the Arizona minimum wage for employees who receive tips? 

 

For an employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an employer 

may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage. This means that an 

employer must pay not less than $5.05 per hour in direct wages for a tipped employee.    

If, however, an employee’s tips combined with the employer’s direct wages do not equal 

the Arizona minimum hourly wage, then the employer must make up the difference. 

 

Who is a “tipped” employee? 

 

A tipped employee is an employee who customarily and regularly receives tips, including 

the occupation of waiter, waitress, bellhop, busboy, car wash attendant, hairdresser, 

barber, valet, and service bartender. The employee must actually receive the tip free of 

any control by the employer. The tip must be the property of the employee. 

 

May employees pool, share, or split tips? 

 

Yes. Employees who customarily and regularly receive tips may pool, share, or split tips 

between them. Where employees pool, share, or split tips, the amount actually retained 

by each employee is considered the tip of the employee who retained it. 

 

May employees pool, share or split tips with employees who do not customarily and 

regularly receive tips in the occupation in which they work, such as management or 

food preparers? 

 

Yes, but the tips received by the employee who does not customarily and regularly 

receive tips may not be credited toward that employee’s minimum wage.  

 

What hours may a “tip credit” be applied towards? 
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A tip credit is available only for the hours spent in the tipped occupation. Where a tipped 

employee is routinely assigned to duties associated with a non-tipped occupation, such as 

maintenance or general preparation work, no tip credit may be taken for the time spent in 

such duties. 

 

Is compulsory charge for service a tip? 

 

Only if it is actually distributed by the employer to the employee in the pay period in 

which the charge is earned. A compulsory charge for service imposed on a customer by 

an employer is not a tip if it is considered part of the employer’s gross receipts and is not 

distributed to the employee in the pay period in which the charge is earned. 

 

What steps must an employer take to assert a “tip credit”? 

 

If an employer elects to use the tip credit provision, then the employer must: 

 

 Provide written notice to each employee prior to exercising the tip credit; 

 Be able to show that the employee received at least the minimum wage when 

direct wages and the tip credit are combined; and 

 Permit the tipped employee to retain all tips, whether or not the employer 

elects to take a tip credit for tips received, except to the extent the employee 

participates in a valid tip pooling arrangement. 

 

How does an employer establish that direct wages combined with tips equals or 

exceeds the Arizona minimum wage? 

 

In computing the minimum wage, tips are counted in the workweek in which the tip is 

earned. For purposes of the Arizona Minimum Wage Act, it is the employer’s 

responsibility to maintain a record of the tips considered for purposes of asserting a tip 

credit. The amount per hour that the employer takes as a tip credit must be reported to the 

employee in writing each workweek. 

 

What if tips are not sufficient to make up the difference between the employer’s 

direct wage obligation and the minimum wage? 

 

The employer must pay the difference.  

 

What if the employee earns more than the minimum wage after adding the tips 

received to the base hourly wage? 

 

The employer has fulfilled its obligation under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. 

 

May an employer take a credit against the minimum wage for tools or uniforms? 
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No. Unless included by a bona fide collective bargaining agreement applicable to the 

particular employee, an employer may not credit towards the minimum wage the cost of 

any tools, equipment, uniforms, or any other garment worn by an employee as a 

condition of employment. This also includes the cleaning or maintenance of uniforms and 

tools.  

 

What can an employee do if an employer is not paying an amount at least equal to 

the minimum wage?   
 

An employee has different options if the employee believes that an employer is violating 

the requirements of the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. The employee can file an 

administrative complaint with the Labor Department of the Industrial Commission of 

Arizona or file a civil lawsuit. 

 

Who can file an administrative complaint and when must it be filed? 

 

Any person or organization may file an administrative complaint with the Labor 

Department of the Industrial Commission of Arizona charging that an employer has 

violated the Arizona Minimum Wage Act as to any employee or other person. An 

administrative complaint must be filed within one year from the date the wages were due. 

 

Who can file a lawsuit and when must it be filed? 

  

A civil action to enforce the Arizona Minimum Wage Act may be filed by a law 

enforcement officer (which means the Attorney General or a city, town, or county 

attorney) or by any private party injured by a violation of the Act. The civil action must 

be filed no later than two years after a violation last occurs, or three years in the case of a 

willful violation.  The civil action may include all violations that occurred as part of a 

continuing course of employer conduct regardless of the date of the violation. 

 

Can an employer retaliate against an employee for asking questions about not being 

paid the minimum wage or for asserting any right under the Arizona Minimum 

Wage Act? 

 

No. The Arizona Minimum Wage Act prohibits an employer from retaliating against an 

employee or other person for asserting any right under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. 

Additionally, if an employer takes adverse action against an employee within 90 days of 

the employee asserting a right under the Act, the presumption is that the employer 

retaliated against the employee. This presumption can only be overcome if the employer 

shows by clear and convincing evidence that the action taken against the employee was 

for a permissible reason. 

 

What can an employee do if an employer retaliates against the employee for 

asserting a right under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act? 
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An employee may file an administrative complaint with the Labor Department of the 

Industrial Commission of Arizona or file a civil lawsuit. 

 

What remedies are available to an employee for violations of the Arizona Minimum 

Wage? 

 

An employer who fails to pay the minimum wage is required to the pay the employee the 

wages owed with interest and an additional amount equal to twice the underpaid wages. 

An employer who retaliates against an employee is required to pay penalties sufficient to 

compensate the employee and deter future violations, but not less than $150 for each day 

that the violation continued or until legal judgment is final. The Commission and courts 

also have the authority to order other appropriate legal or equitable relief for violations of 

the Act.  

 

Will the State Labor Department keep an employer’s payroll records confidential? 

 

Payroll information provided to the Labor Department of the Industrial Commission of 

Arizona will be kept confidential except as necessary to prosecute violations under the 

Act. 

 

Can an employee’s identity be kept confidential after an administrative complaint is 

filed? 

 

The Labor Department of the Industrial Commission of Arizona shall keep the name of 

an employee identified in an administrative complaint confidential for as long as 

possible. If the Commission determines that an employee’s name must be disclosed in 

order to conduct a further investigation, it may do so only with the employee’s consent.  

 

What other responsibilities do employers have? 

 

In addition to paying the correct Arizona minimum wage, employers are required to: 

 

 Keep accurate records of employee wages and hours. Most of the 

information required to be kept is the type that employers generally 

maintain in their ordinary business practice; 

 Allow inspection at the worksite of all payroll records by the Labor 

Department of the Industrial Commission of Arizona (“Department”); 

 Furnish copies of payroll records requested by the Department; 

 Cooperate with the Department’s investigation into complaints of 

violation with the Arizona Minimum Wage Act;  

 Allow the Department to interview employees; and  

 Post the Arizona Minimum Wage Poster in a conspicuous place where 

employees can read the poster. This poster is available for free from the 

Department at www.azica.gov.   

 

What kind of records are required? 

http://www.azica.gov/
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The records required under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act consist of information that 

employers generally maintain in their ordinary business practice, and, in large part, track 

what is required under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. An employer is required to 

maintain payroll records showing the hours worked and wages paid, including basic time 

and earning cards or sheets, wage rate tables, records of additions to or deductions from 

wages paid and any written agreement relied upon to calculate credits toward the 

minimum wage. Separate recordkeeping requirements are permitted for employees on 

fixed schedules and employees who are compensated on a salary basis at a rate that 

exceeds the minimum wage required under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act and who, 

under the Federal Fair Labor Standards are an exempt bona fide executive, 

administrative, or professional employee, including an employee employed in the 

capacity of academic administrative personnel or teachers in elementary or secondary 

schools, or in outside sales. 

 

How long am I required to keep the records? 

 

Four years. 

 

What happens if an employer violates the recordkeeping, posting, or other 

requirements under the Arizona Minimum Wage? 

 

An employer who violates these requirements is subject to a civil penalty of at least $250 

for the first violation and at least $1000 for each subsequent or willful violation. Special 

monitoring and inspections may also be imposed. Additionally, if an employer fails to 

maintain the required records, it is presumed that the employer did not pay the required 

minimum wage. An employer has the right to rebut this presumption with evidence that 

the employer paid the employee the required minimum wage. 

 

How can Arizona’s minimum wage be higher than the federal minimum wage? 

 

Under federal law, a state may require a minimum wage that exceeds the federal wage as 

the federal law establishes only the minimum wage that must be paid. 

 

Which minimum wage law applies? 

 

An employer will likely be subject to both the federal and state minimum wage laws. 

When there are different requirements between the laws, the employer must follow the 

requirement that is the most beneficial to the employee. Since Arizona’s minimum wage 

law requires a higher minimum wage rate than does the federal law, an Arizona employer 

who is subject to both laws must pay the Arizona minimum wage rate. 

 

What is the wage rate that forms the basis for calculation of overtime? 

 

The Arizona minimum wage rate is considered the “regular rate” for purposes of 

calculating overtime under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. 
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May an employee agree to work for less than the minimum wage? 

 

No. The minimum wage is an obligation of the employer and cannot be waived by any 

verbal or written agreement or employment contract. 

 

 

 


